Spousal Immunity

I knew in my gut I shouldn’t have done it. However, if you think about it, I was doing it for the greater good. Besides, I’ve been married to the man for as long as I can remember, so it’s not that difficult, right?

Being the wife of a federal agent has its perks. You get to learn things you can use to protect yourself. One of them is losing someone who’s tailing you. Granted, I once went the other way around and became a tail, but technically, it’s the same. However, the downside to being the wife of a federal agent is that you are constantly worried that your husband may not come home. So, when my husband ended up in a hospital after getting into a severe car accident that left him in a coma for three days, I decided to take matters into my own hands.

“I want you to lie to him,” I told my husband’s CI, Neilina. The former conwoman hesitated, but I was determined. “I need you to keep Robert safe.” Neilina’s lips formed a thin line as she debated internally whether or not she should do as I requested. “You know I’m just a CI, not an FBI agent, Amber,” she said at last. “I don’t have the training or gun necessary to protect Robert.” I let out a sigh. “I know you don’t, Neilina,” I said. “I’m still asking you to do it anyway. I don’t want the next call I receive to be from the city morgue.” Neilina nodded and gave me her word to do as I asked. I thanked her and went back to my husband’s hospital room, hoping that he would wake up soon.

When Robert was finally discharged, he was ordered to recuperate at home as his arm was still healing, and he needed to wear a sling. He was fine the first few days, enjoying a brief vacation from work, but after that, he began to get a little stir-crazy. Neilina kept her word and hid the truth from my husband during his absence. I feel that my G-Man is aware that his consultant is lying to his face, but I need him safe! So, if this is how I will achieve that, that’s what it will be! Besides, I can always claim spousal immunity.