The Devil Doesn’t Share

Lucy Morningstar may have had various people from all walks of life gracing her bed night after night, but when it comes to a certain homicide detective for the Las Vegas Police Department, that’s where she draws the line.

“I don’t want you seeing other women.” The former Princess of Darkness said with her arms crossed. “Why not?” Detective Stanton asked. “You see other people all the time.” He reasoned. “Besides,” The detective added. “It’s not like we’re exclusive or anything. We’re just friends with benefits.” Lucy huffed in defiance at her detective’s words and said, “I don’t care. I don’t want you being with other women. The Devil doesn’t share unless it’s one of my infamous threesomes.” Detective Stanton rolled his eyes and went back to studying the case file on his desk, leaving the fallen angel to her own devices.

“You want to know why I don’t want you seeing other women?” Lucy spoke up after a moment’s silence. Detective Stanton inwardly sighed as he looked up from the case file. “You mean besides the fact that you’re the Devil and you don’t like to share?” The detective inquired, paraphrasing the Queen of Hell’s earlier words back at her in a somewhat annoyed tone. Ignoring the obvious barb, the Lady of Hell grinned like the Cheshire Cat. “Precisely,” She said. “Being with other women can get quite dull for you. Trust me, I’ve been there once or twice.” The former Lightbringer said matter-of-factly.

Fighting the urge to roll his eyes again, Detective Stanton said exasperatedly, “Lucy, what is your point?” The Ruler of Hell suddenly looked sheepish, her Lucy-ness seemed non-existent. “I…” She began, trying to form the words. The detective looked at his partner/friend expectantly. “You…?” He inquired. “I don’t want you seeing other women because I want us to be exclusive!” Lucy blurted out in one breath. Confused, Detective Stanton asked Lucy to repeat what she just said.

“Cut the Devil some slack, Detective Stanton! Forming the words was hard enough! I don’t want to repeat them!” The detective then gave the Queen of Hell a pointed look, “If you don’t tell me, I will have to interrogate it out of you.” He said. Seeing that she can’t charm her way out of it, not that she hadn’t tried, mind you, the former Princess of Darkness took a deep breath. “I don’t want you seeing other women because I…” She began. Detective Stanton gestured with his hand for Lucy to continue. “I want us to be exclusive.” The Devil finished, bowing her head.

After letting Lucy’s confession sink in, the detective got up from his seat and made his way over to her. Taking her in his arms, he whispered in her ear, “So you want us to be exclusive?” Lucy nodded, burying herself deeper into her detective’s embrace. “Yes, yes I do.” The Lady of Hell said with conviction. “Okay, Lucy, I will stop seeing other women, but you have to do the same for your overnight guests.” The fallen angel lifted her head and smiled beautifully at him. “You have my word, Detective Stanton.”

